The Exorcist TV Series

Well fuck.

Some searching is in progress, looking for a crew to bring back the Exorcist series with the focus on the foul-mouthed 12-year old Reagan MacNeil. So far we only know the producer of The Ring, The Grudge and Woman in Black and the writer writing the new Fantastic Four screenplay are involved. I don’t think names are as important as their résumé, plus I closed down the tab where it said their names and I don’t feel the need to reopen it.

It was only a matter of time before this reached the small screen. TV shows used to become big enough to release their own film (South Park: Bigger, Longer and UncutReno 911 Miami) and now when movie franchises gain enough of a following, a big budget TV series is suddenly in the works (S.H.I.E.L.D.ArrowFriday Night LightsBates Motel). Plus, with the popularity of American Horror Story and Hannibal and other horror TV series, it seems like a perfect time to rehash the exorcism story. I guess.

Will this be any good? Let me answer my own question because no one else is going to pose it; the first Exorcist film was very scary when it was made in 1973 and it had a young girl saying “cunt” before Chloë Grace Moretz made it cool in Kick-Ass. When I watched it for the first time earlier this year, as a baby of the 90’s, I didn’t find it all too frightening. To match that level of heart-attack inducement would be an enormous challenge, but with a TV show, I suppose the plot would be a priority that would equal the thrills. And…

Wait a second, all this conjecture is pointless. Like three details have come out about it and I’m attempting a prediction based on the little knowledge I have on all things horror.

Fuck it, we’ll wait and see how the trailer looks.

Write something here. Anything. Seriously.